Welcome, 2017!

Weeeeeeeeeeee… wish you a merry Christmas, we wish you a merry Christmas, we wish you a merry… Oh, right. It’s not Christmas. Except… in the words of someone I can’t remember but I think it was an OYANer – CHRISTMAS ISN’T OVER UNTIL THE LAST LORD LEAPS.

I meant to do a Christmas post. I really did. But then Christmas actually happened, and I couldn’t figure out how to say what I wanted to say, and now it’s New Year’s. So I guess I’ll use that planned post next year. If I can remember.

So without further ado – HAPPY NEW YEAR!

While it’s an undeniable fact that 2016 was not a good year if you were a beloved and aging celebrity, I have to say it was one of the best years to happen to me in a long time.

A Few Reasons

  •  I became Orthodox. Easily the greatest and most awesome (in the truest sense of the word) thing to have happened to me this year.
  • I knit a TARDIS pillow. It is a TARDIS. It is squishy. It lives on my bed. I love it.
  • I went to the OYAN Summer Workshop. If it weren’t for the fact that I became Orthodox, this would take the place of greatest thing to happen this year, and in perhaps my life.
  • I visited family in Texas for the first time in 3 years, saw OYANers as well, and flew by myself on the way back. The first two were amazing, the last was… nerve wracking.
  • I started this blog! Hello! *waves*
  • I turned sixteen and came to the realization that I am the older teenager that I’ve looked up to all my life. Scary thought.
  • I started my first part-time job. I nanny, and the little one is adorable.
  • NaNoWriMo happened, and with it the whole craziness of our blogging-writing hangouts. You guys are the best.
  • I neared the end of my very first original novel. Still not done yet, but close!!
  • My first OYAN friend ever got married.
  • I got a flute for Christmas and I can make pretty noises come out of it! Well, if you call Mary Had a Little Lamb pretty. But still.
  • An OYANer came over and spent the morning with me, and then I got to sneak into the 18+ Winter Workshop and see some of my best friends for the first time since June. It’s one of the last things to happen this past year and I made so many good memories.
  • Finally, my Grandparents came up for the first time in a long time and visited over the weekend.

So, really, all in all, this has been one of the best years in a long time for me, and I find myself looking forward and ahead to 2017.

Speaking of 2017… over the past few months things have been popping up that are going to happen and I’m very, very excited for them.

  • 2 of my online, live-in-a-different-country friends are moving to the States within the first couple of months and I’ll probably get to see both of them! *bounces*
  • The OYAN Summer Workshop again. Because I am not missing that for the world.
  • Pascha is coming! It comes every year, of course, but that doesn’t mean I anticipate it any less.
  • The various NaNos and Camp NaNos that I hope to attend.
  • I shall probably (hopefully) finish my book this year.

Even if only one of these things actually ends up happening (and Pascha is certain to happen) 2017 is shaping up to be a pretty good year.

Happy New Year, everybody, and Merry Christmas!

What’s the best thing that happened to you last year? Is there anything you’re really looking forward to with this new year?

 

4 thoughts on “Welcome, 2017!

  1. I really enjoyed this post! I must ask, what is OYAN? I’m not familiar with this. XD And you must be a Doctor Who fan. That actually surprised me, I wouldn’t have taken you for a Sci-Fi girl at all.

    I am really looking forward to perhaps taking a trip to Kansas this summer, not sure if I can yet but it looks probable. It will be my first trip without my parents or siblings, so it will be a new experience. Otherwise I’m looking forward to more writing adventures and family adventures, along with new discoveries to make with my horse.

    Enjoyed your post, Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OYAN is amazing. A little more specifically, it’s my writing curriculum. OYAN stands for One Year Adventure Novel, and it teaches you to write a novel in (supposedly) one school year. It has done amazing things for my writing alone, but the community that comes along with it is the best part. There’s a student forum and every year there’s a Summer Workshop that everyone who has a curriculum license can attend, so people come from all over the world to it. There were two sisters from New Zealand this past year.

      Really? I love Doctor Who. And Sci-Fi in general. Granted, historical fiction and fantasy probably come first, but Sci-Fi’s definitely up there. And Doctor Who can count as historical fiction, anyway, right? 😛

      Ooh, fun! Solo trips can be an adventure. *nods* Even if you travel a lot.

      Thank you for commenting!

      Like

  2. I don’t think there is one thing I can single out from this past year that was the best that happened, without this meaning it was a dull year by any means, just that there were many small things (which ultimately is better). From the recent past I can recall the making of wooden shields and swords and the completion of “Prince Caspian” — but that doesn’t really count, being hardly an hour ago.

    As for looking forward, to be honest, to seeing the other two Narnian movies… But more seriously, towards the plane flight next Tuesday and, well, Pascha, and the Spring Semester somewhat, and to say the truth I can’t really anticipate much farther than the day after tomorrow, so to speak. It’s not like I have the whole year programmed out before me, you know.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh gracious, SO MANY good things happened in 2016, I can hardly pinpoint just one :D. And I’ve already got a TON of stuff I’m looking forward to in 2017 xD. But to mention a few (of the more writerly) things that I’m excited for – all the NaNo events + the new stories I plan to start. It’s going to be a good year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

