Purposeful Pages: August Edition

Purposeful Pages Meme

What is Purposeful Pages? Purposeful Pages is a monthly link-up designed to unite bloggers on answering questions about life, blogging, the Bible, writing, and books.

It was started, as far as I know, by Amanda at Scattered Journal Pages and Hannah at Furious Ever Afters. I found out about it through Jonny doing it here and thought that it sounded like fun, especially as I try to find things to write about on here. Anyhow, on to the questions.

Question One // What book of the Bible has taught you the most this month?
Proverbs. Near the beginning of this month, I (tried) to read a chapter a day. Traveling messed with that, but when I did manage to read I learned a lot, even from the sections that wouldn’t seem to apply to me.

Question Two // How would you react if you were in the positions of either Esther, if you’re a girl, or Daniel, if you’re a guy?
I’m not entirely sure. I hope that I would do the right thing, but I’m not sure that I would. I mean, it’s easy enough to sit here in my bedroom and say “I would be brave and do exactly what Esther did!”, but in reality there’s a very good chance that I wouldn’t do anything.

Question Three // If you could have a book character for a sibling, who would it be, and what makes you two alike?
0_0 So many good book characters! I honestly have no idea. (A sign of growing up with only brothers: When you think ‘sibling’, your mind immediately jumps to all the guy characters) Um… Probably Peter Pevensie, from the Chronicles of Narnia. Both of us are the oldest in our respective families, and both of us would do anything for our younger siblings.

Question Four // If you’re a novelist, answer: How would your main character most likely spend his or her Friday night? If you’re not a novelist, answer: How would you most likely spend your Friday night?
Depends. If it’s during the school year, he’d most likely be doing homework. If it’s not, probably watching TV, reading, or talking with his grandmother. Of course, during the events of the story his Friday nights are spent tracking down the bad guy…

Question Five // What are the top three books you’re just dying to read?
The sequel to Claervont Captive, by Bryce Roberts. I don’t remember it’s exact title at the moment, but the first was so good and it’s coming out soon and I can’t wait! Then there’s Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, by Jack Thorne. It’s a play version of a new Harry Potter story by J.K. Rowling and the writing and production of the play were overseen by her. Technically I’ve already read the first half sitting in a bookstore, but I really enjoyed it and I can’t wait to read the rest. Finally there’s My Name is Asher Lev, by Chaim Potok. It got an amazing review (here’s a link) from my friend, and I’m both scared and dying to read it.

Question Six // Can you briefly share the story behind your blog’s name?
Well, I ramble a lot and I’m a pilgrim on the Way… in a little more depth, when I started thinking about having a blog, I was at a loss for a name, besides ‘Ramblings’, then I saw Traveling the Way sitting on my floor and the name sort of popped into my head. Or at least, I think that’s what happened. It’s been over a year since then.

Question Seven // What do you consider to be your blog’s “branding,” or signature? What sets your blog or social media platform apart from others?
I don’t know yet, probably because I just started it. Probably what’s different right now is that there is absolutely no rhyme or reason to the topics.

Question Eight // Who are a few of your favorite bloggers?
A few? Well, I guess I don’t follow that many blogs.
Abby, at A Glimpse of Starlight
Jonny, at Fishing for Ideas
Aidan, at Story Forger
and Alexandra, at A Pen for the King

Question Nine // If you could go on a road trip of your dreams, where would you go and who would you spend time with?
I would go to the One Year Adventure Novel Summer Workshop and I would go with OYANers.

Question Ten // Using five words or less, tell a story.
Romani Christianos proter fidem occiderunt. May be cheating, but no one said it had to be in English.

That was fun. I definitely look forward to doing this again next month. What did you think?

 

6 thoughts on “Purposeful Pages: August Edition

  1. Ooh, what a cool linkup. I’m with you on only guys coming to mind when I think of literary siblings, and I like your answer. I’ve never been a Peter fan, but your answer might be changing my mind. =)

    Do let me know what you think of My Name is Asher Lev if you read it! And much yay for Latin. =D

    Like

  2. Ooh, awesome answers. Proverbs is great book of the Bible. (And I actually almost picked Peter as my sibling. XD) Also oh my goodness I’m so pleased you like my blog. ^_^ It means a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

